Search ECI website only

Chapter 10: State Legislative Assemblies (Vidhan Sabhas)

The Vidhan Sabha or the 'Legislative Assembly 'is the lower house [in bicameral States] or the sole house [in unicameral States] of the State legislature in different States of India. There are 30 State Legislative Assemblies in 28 States and 2 Union Territories of Delhi and Puducherry. Members of a Vidhan Sabha are direct representatives of the people of the particular State as they are directly elected by an electorate consisting of all citizens of the age of 18 years and above of that State. Each Vidhan Sabha is formed for a five-year term after which all seats are up for election. The Vidhan Sabha can be dissolved before completion of term by the Governor or its term can be extended during emergency [Article 172(1)]

For a person to become a member of Legislative Assembly, s/he should be a citizen of India and not less than 25 years of age and should be registered in the electoral roll of any constituency in the state.

10.1 Number of Elections held
10.2 Number of Constituencies & Polling Stations
10.3 Electoral Participation
  Download Chapter 10


O. Map: LA elections over years
P. Map: State wise Voter turnout of General Elections to Legislative Assemblies
Q. Graph: NOTA Votes Polled in state Election Oct 2013 to Dec 2016
  Quick Links for ECI Officials    
  Officer's Login Link to State/UT CEOs National Voter Day
  Download Manager Page (For Officers) Link to MeitY Appstore Help
  Observer's Portal (For Observers Only) Miscellaneous Statistics Sitemap
  CEO's portal  /  ECI login /  Delimitation ECI Mail Service
  ECI Officers login (For Observer Reports) Media Corner Genesys
  RTI Online Officer's login Best Sharing Portal E-Office
national grievance services