Search ECI website only

Chapter 4: Council of States [Rajya Sabha]

Rajya Sabha is the Upper House of the Parliament of India. Rajya Sabha is a permanent House and is not subject to dissolution. One-third members of Rajya Sabha retire after every second year. Vice President of India is the ex-officio Chairperson of the Rajya Sabha.

As per the Constitution of India [Article 80] maximum strength of Rajya Sabha is 250, out of which 12 members are nominated by the President and not more than 238 are representatives of the States and of the Union Territories. The present strength of Rajya Sabha is 245, out of which 233 are representatives of States and UTs and 12 are nominated by the President. The members nominate by the President are persons having special knowledge or practical experience in respect of such matters as literature, science, art and social service [Article 80]. The allocation of elective seats is made on the basis of the population of each State. Consequent on the reorganization of states and formation of new states, the number of elected seats in the Rajya Sabha allotted to States and Union Territories has changed from time to time since 1952.

A person is qualified for the membership of the Rajya Sabha if S/he is a citizen of India, not less than 30 years of age [Article 84] and is not disqualified under the provisions of the Constitution [ Article 102] or the Representation of the People Act, 1951 [Sections 8 to 10 A]

The election of representatives of the States and of the Union territories in Rajya Sabha is an indirect election. The representatives of each State and the two Union Territories with Legislature are elected by the elected members of the Legislative Assembly of that State/Union Territory in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote. The representatives of the remaining Union Territories may be chosen in such manner as the Parliament may by law provide [Article 80].

4.1 Allocation of seats in the council of states to each State/Union Territory
4.2 Changes in Composition of Rajya Sabha
4.3 Women Members Elected/Nominated in Rajya Sabha
  Download Chapter 4
  Quick Links for ECI Officials    
  Officer's Login Link to State/UT CEOs National Voter Day
  Download Manager Page (For Officers) Link to MeitY Appstore Help
  Observer's Portal (For Observers Only) Miscellaneous Statistics Sitemap
  CEO's portal  /  ECI login /  Delimitation ECI Mail Service
  ECI Officers login (For Observer Reports) Media Corner Genesys
  RTI Online Officer's login Best Sharing Portal E-Office
national grievance services