Search ECI website only

Chapter 5: Delimitation

The division of each State into as many constituencies as in the Lok Sabha from that state & State Legislative Assemblies is done primarily on the basis of population census. The last delimitation was done under the Delimitation Act of 2002 using figures of population census of 2001. As far as practicable, geographical area of constituencies were to be delimited taking into account physical features, existing boundaries of administrative units, facilities of communication and public convenience.

Number of seats allocated to Lok Sabha and Legislative Assemblies was kept fixed [based on 1971 population census] and the number of seats reserved for SCs and STs was readjusted based on their population as per population census of 2001. State average per Assembly Constituency was the guiding factor for delimiting the constituencies so that each constituency in the state, so far as practicable, has an equal population. Constituencies were delimited having regard to the administrative units, i.e., as it existed on 15th February,2004. It was also ensured that Assembly Constituencies were not extended to more than one district and the Parliamentary Constituencies in a State to the extent possible were constituted of equal numbers of Assembly Constituencies.

The Delimitation Commission readjusted the territorial extent of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies in all States {including UTs having Legislative Assembly} except1 the states of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Nagaland and Jammu & Kashmir in the last delimitation exercise. The Delimitation Order in respect of State of Jharkhand was not given effect in accordance with the provision of section 10B of Delimitation Act 2002. The Election Commission consolidated Orders of the Delimitation Commission as 'The Delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies Order, 2008'.

The Constitution (One Hundredth Amendment) Act, 2015 was passed on 29th May, 2015 to give effect to the acquisition of 51 Enclaves from Bangladesh and transfer of 111 Enclaves of India to Bangladesh. Subsequently the Delimitation of 6 Assembly Constituencies of West Bengal was undertaken by the Election Commission in pursuance of "The Election Laws (Amendment) Act, 2016" and the final Order Notifying the changes in the extent of concerned six Assembly Constituencies No. 1-Mekliganj (SC), 5-Sitalkuchi(SC), 6-Sitai(SC), 7-Dinhata, 8-Natabari and 9-Tufanganj Assembly Constituencies and in the extent of 1-Coochbehar(SC), 2-Alipurduars(ST) and 3-Jaipaiguri(SC), Parliamentary Constituencies consequent upon the alteration of the extent of the above mentioned six Assembly Constituencies was Notified on 15th March, 2016. The transfer of the said territories between India and Bangladesh thereafter took place on 31st July, 2015.

1Provisions of Delimitation Act 2002 was not extended to Jammu & Kashmir. Under section 10A of the Delimitation Act 2002, the delimitation exercise in respect of States of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur and Nagaland were deferred.

5.1 Years of Delimitation Acts
5.2 Administrative Units used for Delimitation Exercise, 2002
5.3 Seats Reserved for SC/ST for Lok Sabha over the years
5.4 SC/ST's Seats in Lok Sabha as per last two Delimitation Orders
5.5 SC/ST's seats in Legislative Assemblies as per the last two Delimitations Orders
  Download Chapter 5
  Quick Links for ECI Officials    
  Officer's Login Link to State/UT CEOs National Voter Day
  Download Manager Page (For Officers) Link to MeitY Appstore Help
  Observer's Portal (For Observers Only) Miscellaneous Statistics Sitemap
  CEO's portal  /  ECI login /  Delimitation ECI Mail Service
  ECI Officers login (For Observer Reports) Media Corner Genesys
  RTI Online Officer's login Best Sharing Portal E-Office
national grievance services